January 10, 2024
The Main Entrance Hall at Cutlers’ Hall is currently showcasing the latest addition to its display – ‘The Master Cutler’ train sign and model trains. This new exhibit serves as a wonderful addition for all guests and visitors. We would like to extend our gratitude to Gripple for their assistance in mounting and suspending the train sign, as well as Mark Wadsworth for generously donating the display cabinet. Any finally, Chris Hamby’s kind contribution of the trains for the display, all of which is greatly appreciated.
History behind ‘The Master Cutler’ train sign
In 1947, the Chairman of the London and North Eastern Railways (LNER) was Sir Ronald Matthews, a previous Master Cutler in 1922. It was custom to give names to the more important trains, he suggested the 7:40am train from Sheffield to Marylebone, which returned at 6:15pm, should be named ‘The Master Cutler’. In 1959, the crescent-shaped headboard was presented to the Cutlers’ Company by British Railways (Eastern Region) and Firth Vickers Stainless Steels Ltd, as the train was transferred to a diesel Pullman train travelling to London via Retford. In 2012, Mrs Pamela Liversidge OBE DL, named a train ‘The Cutlers’ Company’ at Sheffield Station.